DAY 24: Miracles do happen

Yeoville

RAS ZWESH: One of the people I interviewd today, Ras Zweli has been a member of the Rastafari community in Yeoville since he moved there in the 90s. He has been kind enough to o on this journey with me this month sharing all that he knows about the Rastafari in Yeoville. I have created some amazing relationships during this in-depth journey. Photo: Rofhiwa Madzena

When prayed for guidance and direction last night before going out and shooting an entirely new video today, I wasn’t entirely sure that he was listening. Turns out he was. I suppose he always is and answers prayers when we least expect it.

Anyway, like I said all I did was ask for guidance and today in Yeoville almost all of the elements I needed for my video were there, ready to be filmed. The people I asked to interview were friendly, my battery was charged and the cable used for the sound of the video was fixed so essentially there was nothing to hold me back for another moment. Most of my work fell into place. Although I guess I should be careful, I don’t want to count my chickens before they’ve hatched (I wonder if that is how the saying is phrased).

It has been a difficult journey this in-depth, I have written about this on more than one occasion. But I have learned to be patient, to do my end of the work and things will fall into place eventually.

For me what has kept me is my belief in Christ and that things always work out in the best way for me, although I suppose that believing in a higher power which guides you would depend on whether or not you are spiritual.

These are some of the most important lessons and re-lessons that I will carry with me as long as I am a journalist and as long as I have a significant mark to make in the world.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

