DAY 5: ‘Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love you tomorrow. You’re only a day away.’

I did not go to Yeoville today for family reasons. Although, I felt some guilt. I felt like I could have been missing out on something important which could have happened in my absence. Today’s generation call that FOMO- fear of missing out.

I have not been entirely idle though. I spent my day preparing for for tomorrow, having telephone conversations with some members of the Rastafarian community in Yeoville. Tomorrow, you see, I am going to be a Rastafarian for the day. I have been welcomed to attend their church service (which goes on for at least six hours) to hang out where they hang out, to eat what they eat and to listen to the music that they listen to, amongst other things. I look forward to fully immersing myself in their cultural practices and their way of life, even if it is just for the day.

As a journalist I know that I will have many opportunities to experience different cultures, places and people. But honestly speaking, I doubt I will be exposed to this kind of opportunity again. The key is to seize it now.

So in preparation for tomorrow, these are the instructions that I have been given:

1. Wear a dress. (I’m particularly happy with this instruction. I love dresses and I have a wonderful variety to choose from.)

2. Show very little skin- if I can help it. (Of course I can help it. I am a very conservative person. Anyway, I don’t believe that women need to dress provocatively to convey their womanhood to the world. Im happy to oblige.)

3. Wear a turban. (Now I might sound naiive but I am not sure if this particular one applies to me. From what I learned this week from the Rastafarian community in Yeoville, a turban, which is what we would call a head scarf, is worn by Rastafari to keep themselves sacred. They also wear it as a symbol of their baptism. I have not been baptised, nonetheless I might have to wear one as a sign of respect. Lucky for the Rastafari I’m a lady and I always keep a scarf handy, just in case.)

4. Wear nothing underneath the dress. (A close friend of Elder’s wife (I hope you remember Elder) said that the body needs to breathe as this helps it to remain nourished. Wearing undergarments inhibits that.)

5. Be open to receiving the spirit. (Now I’m not entirely sure what this means and to be honest I was a little apprehensive to ask for clarification. I might have to recieve the spirit through “the herb”. I’ve never experienced that kind of enlightenment and I don’t think I am ready to. It’s a fear of the unknown I guess but the thought of losing myself to Marijuana makes me a little weary. I did however learn this week, that the Rastafari use marijuana as a platform on which to connect spiritually with God or Jah as they would say. I’m happy to watch them experience that transition. I on the other hand, will keep to prayer.)

Tomorrow, in this in-depth journey, will be a day where I will further enrich myself as a person as well as a journalist looking to produce her best work, always. I will come out with a better sense of understanding and appreciation for the world that exists beautifully outside of my own. This is a wonderful part in the final stretch in my journey to becoming a good journalist.

 

Leave a Reply

